Welcome to our series, Getting to Know the Team! If you’ve ever wondered what it’s like to be a structural engineer or simply wanted to learn more about the people behind Engineering Solutions, this series is for you. We’ll feature a new team member every month, so be sure to check back regularly and enjoy our next installment below!

Name – Daniel Rohrer
Location – Harrisonburg
Title – Structural Engineer
Years with Engineering Solutions – 2 years (Intern for one)

When did you know you wanted to be a structural engineer?

Growing up, I was around a lot of construction and always interested in the math and science behind the designs. When I got to college, I took some engineering classes and knew that’s what I wanted to do.

What is your typical day at work?

My work days typically involve a mixture of design and drafting with an occasional site visit.

What is the best part about your job?

 My favorite part is watching a project evolve from a sketch, to a detailed drawing, to a real-life structure.

What are some of the challenges in your job?

It is sometimes challenging to know what the best solution to a project is. This can be anything from not knowing what a client exactly wants to determining the most efficient design.

What is your favorite kind of project to work on for Engineering Solutions?

I always enjoy the industrial projects. It is always interesting to go on their sites and see how some of their operation works.

What is your favorite Core Behavior and how do you live it out?

“Be Proactive” – I think it’s good to be proactive in everything that you do. It prevents you from wasting time so you don’t get behind, while also making it easier for others to work with you. Being proactive is also important to be a leader. 

If you had to give one piece of advice for working with a structural engineer, what would it be?

Communicate as much as possible. Good communication will help a project to go as smoothly as possible.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?

I enjoy spending time with family, being outdoors, and watching sports.

Tell us about your family.

I grew up just north of Harrisonburg so I have lived in the area for most of my life. The majority of my family lives in the area as well, which means that we are all fairly close.

Fun fact about yourself?

Going into my senior year at Virginia Tech, I was ranked in the top 10 of my major.

What is your favorite food?

I can’t say that I have a favorite food. I like a variety of foods and I’m always up for trying something new!

Pin It on Pinterest